Our Councils and Committees

GS1 Canada’s councils are an integral part of our robust governance structure and are composed of senior representatives and key decision-makers in the Canadian industry. These bodies feed directly into the GS1 leadership team and up to the Board of Governors.

Healthcare Advisory Council

Purpose and Accountability

The GS1 Canada Healthcare Advisory Council (Council) is representative of executive-level healthcare administrators and clinicians who provide advice, support and direction to GS1 Canada management in relation to advancing a pan-Canadian initiative to achieve enhanced patient safety, improved health system quality and overall system efficiencies through the adoption of a single system of GS1 global supply chain and data integrity standards in the Canadian healthcare sector.


Karen Belaire

President and Chief Executive Officer
Shared Services West

Sarah Chow

Vice President, Corporate Support & Chief Financial Officer
Toronto East Health Network

Paul-Émile Cloutier

President and Chief Executive Officer

Tony DiEmanuele

President & Chief Executive Officer
Mohawk Medbuy Corporation

Renato Discenza

President & Chief Executive Officer
HealthPRO Procurement Services Inc.

Alain Doucet

President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian College of Health Leaders

Debbie Fischer

Executive in Residence
Rotman School of Business, Healthcare Strategy Centre, Past Chair, Plexxus

Lynne Golding

Partner, Head of Health Practice Group
Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP

Ron Johnson

Vice President, Chief Information Officer
Eastern Health

John King, CHAIR

Strategic Healthcare Advisor

Scott MacNair

Executive Vice President, Business Operations
Provincial Health Services Authority

Scott McIntaggart

Former Senior Vice President, Toronto General Hospital
University Health Network

Dr. Alex Mitchell

Physician Lead
HMS (Healthy Management of Supplies) Project, Supply Chain Innovation Program and Senior Medical Director QEII New Generation Project
Nova Scotia Health Authority

Dr. Susan Moffatt-Bruce

Chief Executive Officer
Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada

Jitendra Prasad

Chief Program Officer, Contracting, Procurement & Supply Chain Management
Alberta Health Services

Rebecca Repa

Executive Vice President, Clinical Support and Performance
University Health Network

Altaf Stationwala

President & Chief Executive Officer
Mackenzie Health

Cathy Szabo

President & Chief Executive Officer
Providence Care

James Teaff

President, General Manager
Baxter Canada

Lori Turik

Former Chief Operating Officer
Supply Chain Advancement Network in Health (SCAN Health) - University of Windsor

François Vaillancourt

Vice-président des acquisitions intersectorielles / Vice-President, Intersectoral acquisition
Centre d'acquisitions gouvernementales

David Yundt

President and Chief Executive Officer

Need Help?