Help Library

GS1 Standards

GS1 is a neutral, not-for-profit association that develops and maintains global standards for efficient business communication and the following videos have been developed to be used by all organizations/sectors across the world. Some of the videos may be missing specific Canadian requirements, such as the use of UPC-A (GTIN-12) where references to EAN-13 (GTIN-13) are made. GS1 Canada will be evolving these videos to add more Canadian references. Until that time, please consult GS1 Canada’s Standards webpage for more information about the requirements for GS1 Standards in the Canadian marketplace.

GS1 System of Standards

Global Trade Item Number (GTIN)

Global Trade Item Number (GTIN) Management

Global Location Number (GLN)

Shipping Serial Container Code (SSCC)

Global Indiviual Asset Identifier (GIAI) and Global Returnable Asset Identifier (GRAI)


Application Identifiers (AIs)

Electronic Data Interchange (EDI)

GS1 DataMatrix